Neuro Praxis Düsseldorf

Autonomous Nervous System Disorders (ANS)

The autonomic nervous system (ANS) is the part of the nervous system whose functions remain largely unconscious. This refers to the part of the nervous system that controls the functions of internal organs. These are autonomous, that is, independent of willful influence. That is why the British physiologist John Newport Langley (1852-1925) coined the term autonomous nervous system.

The autonomic nervous system connects the central nervous system with almost all body organs and thus controls basic vital functions such as blood circulation, digestion, breathing or temperature regulation. While the brain stem controls important reflexes such as coughing, sneezing, swallowing and vomiting, the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems control the functions of the internal organs. These include heart rate, digestion, breathing rate, saliva production, sweating, pupil size, bladder emptying, etc. The interactions between the sympathetic and parasympathetic systems are well coordinated. While the impulses of the sympathetic nervous system usually have a quick and mobilizing effect, parasympathetic impulses tend to have a dampening effect on many organs.

An impressive control instrument

Coming from the entire spinal cord, the sympathetic nerves pass via switching stations, the ganglia of the borderline cord, to the internal organs and to the skin. The parasympathetic neurons originate in the brain stem as well as the lower part of the spinal cord. They also pass through ganglia as switching stations before they reach the pupils, lacrimal and salivary glands, heart, large intestine and urinary bladder.

The autonomic nervous system is an impressive control tool for an independent life. That is why we do everything we can to ensure that your autonomous nervous system (ANS) functions independently again or is well supported.

Prerequisite for successful therapy in the ANS Clinic

Our many years of experience in the ANS Clinic helps in addition to one exact diagnostics, above all the comprehensible training to better understand the body reactions mentioned as examples. This makes it easier for those affected in everyday life to assess which diet and daily structure are suitable to support vegetative functions or how activity or relaxation can be used specifically to to prevent stress-related vegetative complaints.

Typical complaints

The autonomic nervous system controls a large number of internal organs. The symptoms of disorders in this part of the nervous system can be correspondingly complex. Typically, the autonomic nervous system controls body functions, such as circulatory regulation, bladder emptying or bowel movements, which are only given special attention if they disturb everyday life or limit well-being.

Paresthesia

Pain and abnormal sensations such as tingling, burning, stinging are typical symptoms of nerve diseases such as polyneuropathy. These complaints are also called paresthesias ...

Learn more

Indigestion

The vegetative nervous system of the gastrointestinal tract (the so-called "abdominal brain") regulates the transport of food and the digestive functions. In connection with the other symptoms but ...

Learn more

Circulatory disorders

The autonomic nervous system adjusts the heart and circulation to all demands of everyday life. Blood pressure optimization by adjusting the pulse as well as narrowing or widening blood vessels ...

Learn more

Changes in sweating

Sweating has an essential function in temperature regulation, i.e. thermoregulation. This is controlled by the hormone control center, the hypothalamus in the brain, and by the ...

Learn more

Bladder disorders

The autonomic nervous system regulates the functions of the bladder and genital organs. Many chronic neurological diseases lead to disorders of the bladder or sexual functions ...

Learn more

Sleep disorders

The autonomic nervous system regulates the functions of the body's organs not only in the waking state. The depth of sleep but also the structure of our sleep, i.e. the sleep architecture ...

Learn more

"Do you have any questions about our services or would you like to make an appointment? I would also be happy to advise you in my private medical video consultation"

Prof. Dr. med. Christina Haubrich

Make an appointment

Neuro Praxis Düsseldorf

Erkrankungen des Autonomen Nervensystems (ANS)

Das autonome Nervensystem (ANS) ist der Teil des Nervensystems, dessen Funktionen weitgehend unbewusst bleiben. Damit ist der Teil des Nervensystems gemeint, welcher die Funktionen innerer Organe steuert. Diese sind autonom, das heißt unabhängig von willentlicher Beeinflussung. Deshalb prägte der britische Physiologe John Newport Langley (1852-1925) den Begriff Autonomes Nervensystem.

Das autonome Nervensystem verbindet das zentrale Nervensystem mit nahezu allen Körperorganen und steuert somit grundlegende Lebensfunktionen wie Blutkreislauf, Verdauung, Atmung oder die Temperaturregulation. Während der Hirnstamm wichtige Reflexe wie Husten, Niesen, Schlucken und Erbrechen steuert, kontrollieren das sympathische und parasympathische Nerven-System die Funktionen der inneren Organe. Dazu gehören die Herzfrequenz, die Verdauung, Atemfrequenz, Speichelproduktion, Schwitzen, Pupillenweite, Blasenentleerung etc. Dabei sind die Interaktionen von Sympathikus und Parasympathikus gut aufeinander abgestimmt. Während die Impulse des Sympathikus in der Regel rasch und mobilisierend wirken, haben parasympathische Impulse auf viele Organe eher dämpfende Effekte.

Ein beeindruckendes Steuerungsinstrument

Aus dem gesamten Rückenmark kommend ziehen die sympathischen Nerven über Schaltstationen, die Ganglien des Grenzstranges, zu den inneren Organen sowie zur Haut. Die parasympathischen Neurone entspringen dem Hirnstamm sowie der unteren Teil des Rückenmarks. Sie passieren ebenfalls Ganglien als Schaltstationen bevor sie etwa Pupillen, Tränen- und Speicheldrüsen, Herz, Dickdarm und Harnblase erreichen.

Das autonome Nervensystem ist ein beeindruckendes Steuerungsinstrument für ein unabhängiges Leben. Deshalb setzen wir alles daran, dass Ihr Autonomes Nerven-System (ANS) wieder eigenständig funktioniert oder gut unterstützt wird.

Voraussetzung einer erfolgreichen Therapie in der ANS Clinic

Unserer langjährigen Erfahrung in der ANS Clinic nach hilft neben einer genauen Diagnostik vor allem die verständliche Schulung, um die beispielhaft genannten Körperreaktionen besser zu verstehen. So lässt sich für die Betroffenen im Alltag besser einschätzen, welche Ernährung, Tagestruktur geeignet sind, um vegetative Funktionen zu unterstützen bzw. wie Aktivität oder Entspannung gezielt eingesetzt werden können, um stressbedingte vegetative Beschwerden zu verhindern.

Typische Beschwerden

Das Autonome Nervensystem steuert eine Vielzahl innerer Organe. Entsprechend komplex können die Beschwerden bei Störungen dieses Teils des Nervensystems sein. Typischerweise steuert das Autonome Nervensystem Körperfunktionen, wie etwa die Kreislaufregulation, Blasenentleerung oder die Darmtätigkeit, welche erst dann besondere Beachtung finden, wenn sie den Alltag stören oder das Wohlbefinden einschränken.

Missempfindungen

Schmerzen und Missempfindungen wie Kribbeln, Brennen, Stechen sind typische Beschwerden bei Nervenerkrankungen wie Polyneuropathie. Diese Beschwerden werden auch als Parästhesien ...

Mehr erfahren

Verdauungsstörungen

Das vegetative Nervensystem des Magen-Darmtraktes (das sogenannte „Bauchhirn“) reguliert den Nahrungstransport und die Verdauungsfunktionen. In Verbindung mit den weiteren Symptomen aber auch als ...

Mehr erfahren

Kreislaufstörungen

Durch das autonome Nervensystem werden Herz und Kreislauf auf alle Anforderungen des Alltags eingestellt. Blutdruckoptimierung durch Anpassen von Puls sowie Eng- oder Weitstellung von Blutgefäßen ...

Mehr erfahren

Verändertes Schwitzen

Das Schwitzen hat eine wesentliche Funktion bei der Temperaturregulation, d.h. Thermoregulation. Diese wird durch die Hormon-Schaltzentrale, den Hypothalamus im Gehirn kontrolliert und durch das ...

Mehr erfahren

Blasenstörungen

Das vegetative Nervensystem reguliert die Funktionen von Blase und Genitalorganen. Im Rahmen vieler chronischer neurologischer Erkrankungen kommt es zu Störungen der Blasen- oder Sexualfunktionen ...

Mehr erfahren

Schlafstörungen

Das vegetative Nervensystem reguliert die Funktionen der Körperorgane nicht nur im Wachzustand. Die Schlaftiefe aber auch die Struktur unseres Schlafes, das heißt die Schlafarchitektur ...

Mehr erfahren

„Sie haben Fragen zu unseren Leistungen oder möchten einen Termin vereinbaren? Ich berate Sie auch gern in meiner Video-Sprechstunde“

Prof. Dr. med. Christina Haubrich

Termin vereinbaren